November 22, 2013

Research Update

Ok, fellow movie fans!
We’re closing in on the end of the semester, and I just wanted to do a little fill-in on where I was.
Right, so:
Currently, I’m in the panicky final quarter of the marking period. I’ve been re-reading theory, reexamining texts, building ideas and than demolishing them in order to have the information tell me what’s going on.
Here are some lovely charts from my TAGs. I’m not going to go ahead and project any analysis of the information right now, but I just want to talk about the raw data.

tags1

Not bad for a hashtag that is only really active once a week, for about five hours.

tags2

Here is some more.

So, what does this tell me? Activity, of course, does not a community make. The number of tweets is sort of misleading, they could mean anything. Someone could literally be describing cereal and using the hashtag I’m studying. (But enough about my hobbies…). I take a lot of heart from the number of @ replies and retweets. This is an encourgaing sign that there might be a community. These things show that people, seperated by pychical space, are still made intimate by use of a hashtag.

I’m still working on fine-tuning my grounded theory codes (tonight’s fun) and breaking down what each theory and their tweets show the community members are involved in, but I’m feeling good.

Written with StackEdit.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. […] Research Update (rummagethis.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About tomwink

Graduate student at Rowan University currently researching public spaces and their impact

Category

education, fan activity, fandom, movies, participatory culture, research update, short post, Uncategorized